The IAGD Inclusive Geoscience Education and Research (IGER) Awards recognize outstanding efforts in promoting, developing, and/or implementing inclusive instruction & research. IGER award recipients encourage active engagement and participation of students and practitioners with disabilities in the geosciences.  This award supports the vision of the IAGD to fundamentally shift the culture of the geosciences by creating a climate of access and inclusion, and fostering interest and engagement in geoscience academic and career pathways for people with disabilities.

These awards are open to Earth science students, faculty and staff at all levels of academia (K-12 through university), as well as geoscience professionals, with or without disabilities, who exemplify what it means to live and work inclusively. Note: students are evaluated separately from professionals.

The IAGD will recognize one or two IGER Award winners for Teaching / Outreach and/or Research each year selected from the entire pool of nominees.

Nomination and Selection Process

  • The annual deadline for these awards is August 20.  
  • Self-nominations are no longer accepted.
  • Nominations will be evaluated based on the current position of the nominee and considered in three categories:
    • Students
    • K-12 teachers, university faculty, teaching assistants
    • Staff and geoscience professionals outside of school teaching roles
  • Nominations can be made completing the IAGD IGER Award Nomination Form, and attaching the following documents in an email addressed to the IAGD Nominations Committee to awards@theiagd.org
    1. A brief statement (500 words maximum) about how the nominee has promoted access and inclusion for students with disabilities in the geosciences.
    2. A letter of recommendation from a student, fellow faculty member, or a colleague who can attest to the positive impact of the nominee’s actions.
    3. A current curriculum vitae (CV) for the nominee.

IGER Award winners receive a plaque and a small honorarium.

The IAGD is looking for award sponsors! If you are interested in sponsoring the IGER Award, or for more information about the nomination process, please email awards@theiagd.org.

Previous IGER Award winners

2022 IGER Award Winner Dr. Elisabeth (Lis) Gallant

Read the 2022 award announcement here.

Lis Gallant holds a certificate in front of IAGD banners. Anita Marshall stands next to her. Both are wearing conference badges and masks.

IGER award winner Dr. Lis Gallant was announced at GSA 2022 in Denver, Colorado.

2021 IGER Award Winner Annie Klyce

Read the 2021 award announcement here.

Annie Klyce, smiles and holds her IGER award plaque in front of colorful flowering plants.

Annie Klyce, a student at University of South Carolina, received her award virtually at the IAGD online annual meeting.

2020 Awardee: Dr. Michele Cooke

Read the IGER award announcement for Dr. Cooke.

2018 Awardee: Dr. Linda Reinen

Linda Reinen and Chris Atchison stand in front of the IAGD booth holding a plaque

Dr. Linda Reinen from Pomona College is the 2018 IGER Award winner. Dr. Reinen received her award at the 2018 American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting.

2017 Awardee: Jessica Smay

Jessica Smay

Jessica Smay of San Jose City College received the 2017 IAGD Inclusive Geoscience Education and Research (IGER) Award during the 2017 IAGD Annual Meeting, Sunday, October 22, in Seattle, Washington, USA.

Follow the IAGD on TwitterFollow the IAGD on FacebookFollow the IAGD on RSS

©2024 IAGD. The IAGD is a 501c3, volunteer-driven, non-profit organization.

Disclaimer: This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 0939645. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?